Structured financial solutions designed to address specific risk-return objectives
Structured Product
System.String[]
Structured Products Advantages
Structured Products are hybrid investments made up of a bond and an option to offer the potential for higher returns compared to standard deposits
Tailor-made solutions for your specific needs
Product structures are designed to meet with client's specific needs and financial goals.
Equity Linked Note (ELN)
Equity-linked note (ELN) is one of the most popular structured products in the market for investors looking for yield enhancement, which can be further divided into "bullish", "bearish" and "hybrid" notes.
Category
Equity-linked
Common Assets
Performance of an individual stock, a specified lot of stocks or a stock index.
Related Products
Equity-linked instruments, equity high-yield note, equity-linked fixed coupon note, equity-linked range accrual note, cumulative option contracts.
Precautions

Investors are subject to the risks of stock price fluctuations, the effects of dividends and corporate actions. When the note expires, they may receive the underlying stock or receive the cash amount that is less than the original investment amount. It may lose some or all of the principal, resulting in loss of partial.

Equity-linked note is not listed or traded on any market managed by the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited or any other stock exchanges. Although some issuers offer secondary market trading, investors may need to bear the loss on the spread if selling before the maturity date.

Investors would bear the credit risk of the issuer or the guarantor. If the issuer or the guarantor is bankrupted or closed down, the investment principal may be suffered, and it may lose part of or all of the principal.

Main Risks

There are many types and forms of structured products. Investors should beware of the following investment risks, including but not limited to:

Credit risk: The credit risk of the issuer or guarantor of a structured product. When the issuer or guarantor goes bankrupt or fails, even if it is a principal-protected product, the investment principal will still cause loss

Liquidity risk: Structured products generally do not provide a secondary market. Due to the lack of a secondary market, investors might able to unwind transactions at the bid price that is determined by the issuer and the transparency is low.

Interest Rate Linked Notes
Most interest rate-linked products are principal-protected structured products.

The index interest rate is based on the interest rates of domestic and foreign currencies. The product payoff mainly depends on the product structure and interest rate trends. Mostly the operating strategy of interest rate-linked product is to exchange and trade in the money market and interest rate market. Its structure is characterized by stable but not high returns and a long investment period, which is suitable for medium and long-term investors. Common related interest rates are as follows:

Interbank Offered Rate is a universal reference rate for lenders and bond issuers worldwide. It is also one of the most important and common market benchmark interest rates. Depending on the currency of the structured product, the interest rate can also be divided into those major interbank rates such as USD, Libor, EUR Libor, Hibor, or BSSW.
Constant Maturity Swap (CMS) is varied with regular interest rate swap. Common reference rates are CMS 10y, CMS 2y, CMS 30y, or the spread of interest rate swaps with different years as indicators.
Category
Interest Rate Linked
Common Assets
Interbank interest rate and constant maturity swap rates
Related Products
Interest rate-linked notes, interest rate range accrual note
Precautions
Investors need to pay attention to the structure of the product and the risk of interest rate movement.
Main Risks
There are many types and forms of structured products. Investors should beware the following investment risks, including but not limited to:
  • Credit risk: The credit risk of the issuer or guarantor of a structured product. When the issuer or guarantor goes bankrupt or fails, even if it is a principal-protected product, the investment principal will still cause losses;
  • Liquidity risk: Structured products generally do not provide a secondary market. Due to the lack of a secondary market, investors cannot sell contracts before maturity. Therefore, investors can only enter into liquidation / unwinding transactions with the issuer, the price is determined by the issuer, and the transparency is low.
Credit-linked
The structure of Credit-linked product is composed of bonds position and its related credit derivatives. Credit derivatives include credit default swaps, total return swaps, and credit spread options:

Credit-linked product = bonds + credit derivatives

Credit-linked note is a contract that transfers or avoids credit risk. The issuer pays additional premium to the investor of the note to transfer credit risk. When the credit rating of the relevant asset changes, the investor will be responsible for the losses related to the change of credit, when a credit default event occurs, investors may have to bear some or all of the principal losses.
Category
Credit-linked
Common Assets
Credit performance of a company, bond or lots of bond.
Related Products
Credit-linked note
Precautions
Investors need to pay attention to the structure of the product and the risk of changing in the credit rating of related assets and also credit default events.
Main Risks

There are many types and forms of structured products. Investors should beware of the following investment risks, including but not limited to:

  • Credit risk: The credit risk of the issuer or guarantor of a structured product. When the issuer or guarantor goes bankrupt or fails, even if it is a principal-protected product, the investment principal will still cause losses;
  • Liquidity risk: Structured products generally do not provide a secondary market. Due to the lack of a secondary market, investors cannot sell contracts before maturity. Therefore, investors can only enter into liquidation / unwinding transactions with the issuer, the price is determined by the issuer, and the transparency is low.
Commodity Link
The basic structure of the commodity-linked and equity-linked is quite similar. In addition to being subdivided into "bullish", "bearish" and "hybrid" notes, special terms can be added to increase expected returns or protection level.
Category
Commodity Link
Common Assets
Commodity spot price, commodity futures contract, commodity index & fund.
Related Products
Gold-linked notes and crude oil-linked note.
Precautions
Investors need to pay attention to if the commodity-linked note need to settle the relevant commodity at the strike price after the fixing date, and whether the settlement method can be settled in cash, or must be settled in physical method that is needed to pay for related transportation, Storage, tariffs and other expenses.
Main Risks

There are many types and forms of structured products. Investors should beware the following investment risks, including but not limited to:

  • Credit risk: The credit risk of the issuer or guarantor of a structured product. When the issuer or guarantor goes bankrupt or fails, even if it is a principal-protected product, the investment principal will still cause losses;
  • Liquidity risk: Structured products generally do not provide a secondary market. Due to the lack of a secondary market, investors cannot sell contracts before maturity. Therefore, investors can only enter into liquidation / unwinding transactions with the issuer, the price is determined by the issuer, and the transparency is low.
Cumulative Option Contract
Cumulative option contracts are "hybrid" products that can be divided into Accumulator and Decumulator, which are a combination of a series of synthetic forward contracts. For Accumulator, investors will buy the relevant stocks at a specified price (lower than the Spot price) every day according to the contract, while Decumulator will sell the relevant stock at the specified price (higher than the Spot price) every day according to the contract. Both of the above would have a KO feature that the contract will be terminated immediately once the KO event occurs.

As for the options structure, for example Accumulator, is equivalent to buying call options and selling put options at the same time and all of those options are with KO feature.
Cautions and Main risks
  • Admission fee is high. Although the minimum investment amount depends on different counterparties, the requirement would be HK $ 2,000,000 or more normally;
  • If investors would like to early terminate the contract before expiration, they might have to pay unwind cost that is much higher than expected;
  • When the price of the underlying stock rises (falls ^), the contract held by investor may trigger the "Knock-out" event. Once triggered the "Knock-out" event, the relevant contract will be terminated immediately, and investor is no longer able to continue buying (selling ^) the stock at the specified price;
  • When the price of the underlying stock falls (increases ^), the investor buys (sells ^) the stock at the specified price, and the customer is obliged, may suffer loss as a result.
  • Specific terms can also be added to the cumulative option contract: if the price of the relevant asset falls (rises ^) through the strike price, the client must accept to buy (sell ^) two or three times the number of shares at the specified price.
  • If the counterparty breaches its obligations or becomes insolvent, might not be able to buy (sell) the shares at the specified price, and therefore, investors may lose the entire investment amount.
  • ^Is a Decumulator
NEXT
Insurance
Representing 30+ insurance companies, KGI Asia delivers advisories according to clients' age, occupation, personal goals and specific needs. Visit this section to learn more.
Share your investment experience

為特定風險回報目標而設計的財務解決方案
結構性產品
System.String[]
結構性產品特點
結構性產品是一種由債券和期權所組成的混合投資,與標準存款相比,它擁有更高的回報潛力
可靈活配置,以滿足客戶的特定需求
根據客戶的特定需求,設計出相應的產品結構,以滿足其財務需求和目標。
股票掛鈎票據(ELN)
股票掛鈎票據屬高收益結構性產品,也是市場上最常見的結構型產品,基本上可再細分為「看好」、「看淡」及「混合式」的票據
類別
股權掛鈎
常見指定資產種類:
單一股票、一籃子股票或指數的表現
相關產品
股票掛鈎票據、股權高息票據、股票掛鈎固定收益票據、股票掛鈎區間累計收益票據、累積期權合約
注意事項

投資者亦須承受正股及股票市場價格波動的風險、派息及公司行動之影響及對手風險,在票據到期時可能會收到股票或只收到比投資額為少的款項,有可能要虧損部分甚至全部本金。

股票掛鈎票據並無於香港聯合交易所有限公司或任何其他證券交易所所管理之任何市場上市或買賣,雖然部份發行商會提供二手市場買賣,但投資者在到期日前賣出,或須承受差價上的損失。

投資者須承擔發行商或保證機構之信用風險,若發行商或保證機構破產或倒閉,投資本金或會產生虧損,有可能要虧損部分甚至全部本金。

主要風險

結構性產品的種類及形式眾多,投資者需要承擔包括但不僅限於下列的投資風險:

  • 信用風險:結構性產品的發行商或保證機構之信用風險,若發行商或保證機構破產或倒閉時,即使是保本型產品,投資本金仍會產生損失;
  • 流動性風險:結構性產品一般不提供二手市場,由於缺乏二手市場,投資者不能於到期前沽出合約。所以,投資者只能跟發行商進平倉/沖銷交易,價格由發行商釐定,當中透明度不高。
利率掛鈎票據
利率掛鈎型產品大多屬於保本結構性產品,指標利率則以為國內外貨幣的利率掛鈎,產品的收益亦取決於產品結構和利率走勢。利率掛鈎的型主要操作策略為在貨幣市場和利率市場上進行交換和交易,其結構的特點是收益穩定但不高,投資期較長,適合中長期投資者。常見的相關利率如下:

銀行同業拆放利率是全球貸款方及債券發行人的普遍參考利率,亦是最重要的和最常見的市場基準利率之一,按結構性產品的計價幣別不同,利率亦可分為USD Libor、EUR Libor、Hibor 或BSSW等主要銀行同業拆放利率。
固定期限交換利率(Constant Maturity Swap,CMS)是一常規的利率掉期變化。常見參考利率有CMS 10y、CMS 2y、CMS 30y 或以不同年期的利率掉期之價差作為指標。
類別
利率掛鈎
常見指定資產種類
與銀行同業拆放利率、固定期限交換交易利率
相關產品
利率掛鈎票據、利率區間型票據
注意事項
投資者需注意產品的結構,並需要面對利率變化的風險
主要風險
結構性產品的種類及形式眾多,投資者需要承擔包括但不僅限於下列的投資風險:
  • 信用風險:結構性產品的發行商或保證機構之信用風險,若發行商或保證機構破產或倒閉時,即使是保本型產品,投資本金仍會產生損失;
  • 流動性風險:結構性產品一般不提供二手市場,由於缺乏二手市場,投資者不能於到期前沽出合約。所以,投資者只能跟發行商進平倉/沖銷交易,價格由發行商釐定,當中透明度不高。
信貸掛鈎票據
信貸掛鈎型產品結構,是由持有債券及相關債券的信貨衍生工具所組成,當中信貸衍生工具包括信貸違約掉期、總回報掉期及信貸價差期權等:

信貸掛鈎型產品 = 債券 + 信貸衍生工具
信貨掛鈎票據是一種轉移或迴避信貸風險的合約,發行商支付額外的費用與票據投資者以轉移信貸風險,當相關資產的信貸評級出現變動時,投資者將需要擔負起因信貸變動而產生的損失;當發生信貸違約事件時,投資者或需要承擔部分或全部本金的損失。
類別
信貸掛鈎
常見指定資產種類
單一公司、單一債券或一籃子債券的信貸表現
相關產品
信貸掛鈎票據
注意事項
投資者需注意產品的結構,並需要面對相關資產的信貸評級率變動及信貸違約事件的風險
主要風險
結構性產品的種類及形式眾多,投資者需要承擔包括但不僅限於下列的投資風險:
  • 信用風險:結構性產品的發行商或保證機構之信用風險,若發行商或保證機構破產或倒閉時,即使是保本型產品,投資本金仍會產生損失;
  • 流動性風險:結構性產品一般不提供二手市場,由於缺乏二手市場,投資者不能於到期前沽出合約。所以,投資者只能跟發行商進平倉/沖銷交易,價格由發行商釐定,當中透明度不高。
商品掛鈎票據
商品掛鈎型與股權掛鈎型的基本結構大致相同,除了可細分為「看好」 、「看淡」 及「混合式」的票據外,亦可加入特殊條款以提高預期回報或保障資本。
類別
商品掛鈎
常見指定資產種類
商品現貨價格、商品期貨合約、商品指數、基金
相關產品
黃金掛鈎票據、原油掛鈎票據
注意事項
投資者需注意商品掛鈎型票據於定價日後是否需以履約價承接該相關商品,而交收的方式是否可以現金交收,或是必需以實物交收,以實物交收或需支付相關運輸、儲存、關稅等其中費用。
主要風險
結構性產品的種類及形式眾多,投資者需要承擔包括但不僅限於下列的投資風險:
  • 信用風險:結構性產品的發行商或保證機構之信用風險,若發行商或保證機構破產或倒閉時,即使是保本型產品,投資本金仍會產生損失;
  • 流動性風險:結構性產品一般不提供二手市場,由於缺乏二手市場,投資者不能於到期前沽出合約。所以,投資者只能跟發行商進平倉/沖銷交易,價格由發行商釐定,當中透明度不高。
累計期權 / 累沽期權
累積期權合約屬「混合式」產品可分為累積(認購)期權合約(Accumulator)及累積(認沽)期權合約(Decumulator),為一系列合成遠期合約的結合。投資者將根據合約內容,累積(認購)期權合約每天以指定價格(較進場價低)買入相關股票,而累積(認沽)期權合約(Decumulator)則以指定價格(較進場價高)沽出相關股票,直至定價日或合約觸發KO條款提前結束。操作策略上累積(認購)期權合約相等於同時持有買入認購期權、沽出認沽期權及KO條款的合約。
主要風險
  • 入場費較高,雖然最低投資額需視個別發行商而定,但一手市場仍需2,000,000港元以上;
  • 部份發行商未必提供二手市場買賣,如投資者於到期前終止合約(unwind contract),可能需付出高昂費用(unwind cost);
  • 相關資產股價上升(下跌^)時,投資者持有的票據或會觸發「Knock-out」條款。票據「Knock-out」後,有關合約會被終止,投資者便不能再以指定的折讓價格持續買入(溢價沽出^)股票;
  • 相關資產股價下跌(上升^)時,投資者需要以初始訂立的價格買入(沽^)股票,客戶有機會損失超過當初投資金額;
  • 累積期權合約中亦可加入特定條款:如相關資產價格跌(升^)穿行使價,客戶需以相同行使價承接(沽出^)二倍或三倍數量的股票,投資者應在進行投資前詳閱相關條款。
  • 如發行商違反其於股票掛鈎投資下的責任或無力償債,投資者可能損失全部投資金額。
^為累積(認沽)期權合約(Decumulator)
下一章節
保險
凱基亞洲代理超過30家保險公司,提供不同產品予客戶選擇,訪問此部分以了解更多。
分享你的投資體驗