KGI Asia offers you tailored liquidity solutions across a range of margin products
Margin Financing
System.String[]
Margin Financing service increases my investment flexibility
Flexibility and visions are the principles of my success. Margin financing allows me to finance and invest with a smaller amount. This is how I maximize profit in a short time.

Ms Ng, 28, Professional Day Trader
Why Investing Margin with KGI Asia
KGI Asia's Margin Trading service provides you outstanding opportunities to trade higher entry requirements stocks with limited funds.
Enjoy a Higher Rate of Return
Gain greater profit potential by leveraging KGI Asia’s expertise and Insights.
FAQs
You may search for commonly asked questions and answers before contacting us.
Learn more
KGI Asia Power Trader
One Stop Trading Platform
Client Credit/Margin Financing
Securities

Do I need to deposit funds into my KGI Trading Account before giving a trading order?

This depends upon three factors:

  • your Purchasing Power (PP) at KGI; and
  • the risk class of the stock you wish to buy; and
  • your credit limit at KGI

For most Hong Kong Stocks and some stocks in China, US and Japan market, the purchase does not require pre-funding depending on the then prevailing PP of your account and the margin ratio1of the stock being purchased.

For example:

if the current PP of your Trading Account is HKD 20,000 and the margin ratio of the Hong Kong Stock being purchased is 60%, you can purchase up to HKD 50,000 worth of the stocks without depositing funds beforehand. You can also call our 24-hour InvestLine at (852) 2878-5555 or contact your Investment Representative to know more about the Margin[GL1] Table.

If these shares are non-marginab
le stocks, the maximum amount of these stocks you can buy without depositing additional funds before placing an order is the prevailing PP.

However, if you are on margin call, you will need to satisfy the margin requirement before any further purchases can be put through.

Note 1: Margin ratio: up to 85% for Hong Kong Stocks, and up to 70% for China, US and Japan stocks.

 

 

What is Purchasing Power (PP)?

PP is the amount available for purchase stock depending on its risk class. In general, the figure is based upon your ledger balance and the total marginable value of the stock portfolio in your KGI Trading Account. PP amount  would be deducted by the required haircut1 amount when you place a buy order.

For margin clients, the marginable value of a stock represents the amount for financing from the stock holding. For cash clients, the marginable value can enhance your immediate PP. Full settlement of the transaction amount is still required on the settlement date of the relevant trade.

Example: If your PP is HKD 100,000 in cash or your margin account, you can purchase without pre-funding up to about (approximations only):

  • HKD330,000 of Hong Kong Stocks with margin ratio 70%, or
  • HKD140,000 of Hong Kong Stocks with margin ratio 30%, or
  • HKD100,000 of non-marginable stocks

The above example demonstrates that you don't  need to have the sufficient cash in your Trading Account before placing a buy order. However, you still need to fully settle the transaction amount on the settlement date (for cash accounts) or to fulfill the margin call that maybe arises subsequent to the transaction (for cash and margin accounts).

You can also call our 24-hour InvestLine at (852) 2878-5555 or contact your Investment Representative to know more about the Margin Table.

Note 1: Haircut = 1- margin ratio. For instance, 60% margin ratio stock means 40% haircut

 

 

What is "Cash PP"?

"Cash PP" indicates the total value of securities that you can purchase "Non-eligible Securities for Margin Trading" at this moment. The figure is based on your ledger balance in your KGI Trading Account.

No matter for margin clients or cash clients, full settlement of the transaction amount is required on the settlement date of the relevant trade.

Example: If your Cash PP is HKD 100,000, you can purchase up to about (approximations only):

  • HKD 100,000 non-marginable China stocks.

The above example demonstrates that you need to have sufficient cash in your Trading Account before placing a buy order. Also, you must fully settle the transaction amount of the relevant trades on settlement date (for cash and margin accounts).

You can also call our 24-hour InvestLine at (852) 2878-5555 or contact your Investment Representative to know more about the Margin Table.

 

 

When does my Purchasing Power (PP) get updated once I make a HKD/USD deposit into my KGI Trading Account?

Non-cheque deposits:

With inter-bank transfer, cash deposit, HSBC/ Hang Seng Bank/ Standard Chartered Bank phone banking and electronic banking services via a Hong Kong source, your Purchasing Power will be updated within 2 hours1 for normal bank's service hours.

With PPS Services and Online Bank Bill Payment Services (exclude HSBC, Hang Seng and Wing Lung Bank), if you make successful depositing before the cut-off time, your Purchasing Power will be updated on the next business day.

Cheque deposits:

With cheque depositing, if your deposit is up to a maximum of HKD 50,0002, will be updated in your Purchasing Power within 2 hours1 for normal banks' service hours. And if your deposit exceeds this amount, the full amount will also be shown in your Purchasing Power once the cheque is cleared.

Note 1: Within 2 hours on receipt of notification by KGI, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays (HKT).
Note 2: Regardless of the number of deposits made on a single day.

 

 

Can I trade stocks on margin financing?

You can trade stocks on margin financing if you have a margin account. You can also call our 24-hour InvestLine at (852) 2878-5555 or contact your Investment Representative to know more about the Margin Table.

 

 

What is a credit limit?

Credit limit is applicable to a margin account and it determines the total maximum amount on settlement date that may remain outstanding under the account.

 

 

What is a margin call?

The different definitions of the margin call are applicable to different types of accounts as follows:

Cash Accounts

A margin call will be issued when there is overdue payment that remains outstanding after the settlement date, or at any time or from time to time as required by KGI.

Margin Accounts

A margin call will be issued when the marginable value of the account's portfolio is not enough to cover the total amount outstanding under the account or when the amount on a value day basis that remains outstanding under the account is greater than the approved credit limit or otherwise at any time or from time to time as required by KGI. Thus, the margin call amount will be the greater of the amount in excess of the marginable value of the account's portfolio or the approved credit limit or the amount demanded by KGI.

Once you are on margin call, you will not be able to buy any more stocks and withdraw securities or cash, and you will have to pay up the margin call amount immediately by cash depositing, depositing of additional securities collateral and/ or liquidating an appropriate amount of your portfolio (as applicable). If you fail to satisfy the call, your portfolio can be partially or totally liquidated without any prior notice.

Note: KGI reserves the right to change its credit limit, margin and forced liquidation policies either generally or in any particular case without any prior notice.

Futures and Options

Do I need to deposit funds into my KGI Trading Account before giving a trading order?

In the futures and options markets, both buyers and sellers need to deposit an initial margin, which usually an amount to be used to cover daily market price fluctuations. At the end of each trading day, investors' accounts will be adjusted according to the value of each contract or marked to market. If the initial margin deposit falls below the maintenance margin, after marking-to-market, a margin call will be issued and investors must deposit additional funds in corresponding currency or eligible collateral to restore the account to the initial margin level.

If you instruct KGI to enter into a futures or options transaction effected in a foreign currency, (i) any profit or loss resulting from the exchange rate fluctuations of such foreign currency will be at your own risk; and (ii) all deposits for margin purposes shall be made in cash in the foreign currency unless KGI requires others otherwise. KGI reserves the right to convert from funds in your account to money in foreign currency at the rate of exchange determined by KGI in its sole discretion on the basis of the then prevailing money market rates for handling such transactions and/or exercising KGI's rights. Any all cost to currency conversion should be borne by you.

 

 

Where can I check the margin requirements?

The margin requirements table for HK Futures and Global Futures can be found[GL1] from the [Service Fee] section on our website.

 

 

When does my Buying Power get updated once I make a HKD/USD deposit into my KGI Trading Account?

Non-cheque deposits:

With inter-bank transfer, cash deposit, HSBC/ Hang Seng Bank/ Standard Chartered Bank phone banking and electronic banking services via a Hong Kong source, your Buying Power will be updated within 2 hours1 for normal banks' service hours.

With PPS Services and Online Bank Bill Payment Services (exclude HSBC, Hang Seng and Wing Lung Bank), if you make successful depositing before the cut-off time, your Buying Power will be updated on the next business day.

Cheque deposits:

With cheque depositing, if your deposit is up to a maximum of HKD 50,0002, your Purchasing Power will be updated in your Buying Power within 2 hours1 for normal banks' service hours. And if your deposit exceeds this amount, the full amount  will also be shown in your Buying Power once the cheque is cleared.

Note 1: Within 2 hours on receipt of notification by KGI, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays (HKT).
Note 2: Regardless of the number of deposits made on a single day.

 

 

What is a margin call?

A margin call will be issued when the account value in the market is lower than the maintenance margin requirement of all futures and options positions.

Once you are on margin call, you will not be able to open new positions and you will have to pay up the margin call amount immediately by cash depositing, eligible collateral for stock options and/ or closing out an appropriate number of existing positions. If you fail to satisfy the call, your positions will be partially or totally liquidated immediately without any further notice.

Once you settle the margin call, please inform our Customer Service Officers by calling our 24-hour InvestLine at (852) 2878-5555 or contact your Investment Representative.

Note: KGI reserves the right to change its margin call and forced liquidation policy either generally or in any particular case without prior notice.

Share your investment experience

更充裕的资金,具灵活性的工具,让您把握每一个投资良机
保证金融资服务
System.String[]
保证金融资提高交易灵活性
交易灵活性和远见是我成功的原则。凯基亚洲为我提供的保证金融资服务,让我能够利用较少的本金来进行投资,从而获取利润。这是我在短时间内利润最大化的秘诀。

吴小姐 (28岁),专业即日交易员
透过凯基亚洲投资保证金融资的优势
保证金融资为您提供价值比所持股票市值更高的额外资金。通过凯基亚洲办理保证金融资,您将获得更充裕的流动资金,把握每一个投资良机。
享受比一般更高的回报率
保证金买卖具有杠杆特性,允许投资者以较少资金获取巨大投资回报,为独具慧眼的投资者提供额外的融资机会。
常见问题
您可以在联系我们之前,在这里搜寻常见问题和答案。
了解更多
凯基亚洲投资通
一站式交易平台
客户信贷/证券保证金融资服务常见问题
证券

我是否需要在下单交易前存钱到交易账户

这视乎以下三个情况::

  • 您在凯基亚洲交易帐户的购买力;及

  • 您想买入的股票的风险类别;及

  •  您在凯基亚洲交易帐户的信贷限额

 

对于大部份香港的股票和小部份中国、美国、日本的股票,毋须预先付款的金额数目视乎您的交易帐户当时的购买力及拟定购买股票的按金比率1

例如:

如果现时您户口的购买力是20,000港元,而将要买入的港股的按金比率为60%,即表示您可以买入该股票最多总值50,000港元而毋须预先付款。有关的港股按金表,请于登入「网上投资服务」或「凯基亚洲投资通」后,参阅「按金表」。您亦可致电24小时「综合投资专线」(852) 2878-5555 或联络您的凯基亚洲客户经理,以便了解更多上述按金表的事宜。

至于不可融资的2股票,您无须在下单前预先付款而可以买入该股票的最高金额则为当时帐户的购买力。

不过,如果您的交易帐户正被追收保证金(孖展),您需要即时补仓才能继续买入股票

 

 

什麽是购买力?

「购买力」是您能够即时购买证券的扣减价值(按每隻股票的风险类别而定)。该价值是根据您在凯基证券交易帐户内的户口结馀,再加上您在该帐户内的股票投资组合的孖展额总值计算。当您成功下单后,购买力即时会被扣除相关的扣减价值。

对于保证金(孖展)客户来说,一隻股票的保证金(孖展)额代表持有该股票可以借贷金额的数目。而对于现金客户来说,保证金(孖展)额是可以提升即时购买力的金额,但有关交易金额仍须在相关交易的结算日全数付清。

:如您的现金或保证金(孖展)帐户的购买力是100,000港元,即表示您可以毋须预先付款而买入最多大约(粗略计算):

  • 330,000港元按金比率为70%的香港股票;或
  • 140,000港元按金比率为30%的香港股票;或
  • 100,000港元认股权证/不可融资的股票

 

上述例子显示在下单买入股票之前,您的交易帐户不一定需要备有足够的现金结馀,但您仍然须在相关交易结算日全数付清有关交易金额(现金帐户)或付还因该交易而被追 收的保证金(孖展)金额(现金帐户及保证金(孖展)帐户)

有关的港股按金表,请于登入网上投资服务后,可参阅「网上投资服务」「证券交易」「按金表」。 您亦可致电24小时「综合投资专线」(852) 2878-5555 或联络您的凯基证券客户经理,以便了解更多上述按金表的事宜。

 

 

什麽是现金购买力

「现金购买力」是您能够即时购买列在「不能以保证金交易的证券」名单的证券的总值。该总值是根据您在凯基证券交易帐户内的户口结馀计算。

不论保证金(孖展)客户或现金客户,以「现金购买力」购入的不可融资的股票,有关交易金额必须在相关交易的结算日全数付清。

:如您的现金或保证金(孖展)帐户的现金购买力是100,000港元,即表示您可以买入最多大约(粗略计算):

  • 100,000港元不可融资的股票

 

上述例子显示在下单买入股票之前,您的交易帐户需要备有足够的现金结馀,而且您必须在相关交易结算日全数付清有关交易金额(现金帐户及保证金(孖展)帐户)

 

 

存入港元或美元至我的凯基证券交易帐户后,购买力何时才会提升?

非支票存款:

如透过银行转帐、现金存款、汇丰银行/恒生银行/渣打银行电话理财,及电子银行服务存款,您的购买力将可于银行办公时间两小时内1提升。

如您在截数时间前成功透过「缴费灵」服务及网上银行「缴付账单」服务(汇丰银行、恒生银行及永隆银行除外) 存款,您的购买力将于下一个工作天前内提升。

支票存款:

如透过支票存款,您的购买力可于两小时内1提升最多50,0002港元。至于超过50,000港元之支票存款,有关存款将于支票兑现后全数显示于购买力 内。

1. 凯基证券接获存款通知后两小时内;星期六、日及公众假期(香港时间)除外

2. 不论当日存款的次数。

 

 

我是否可以保证金(孖展)信贷形式买卖股票

如您已开立保证金(孖展)帐户,您便可以以保证金(孖展)信贷形式买卖股票。有关的港股按金表,请于登入网上投资服务后,可参阅「网上投资服务」>「证券交易」>「按金表」。

您亦可致电24小时「综合投资专线」(852) 2878-5555 或联络您的凯基证券客户经理,以便了解更多上述按金表的事宜。

 

 

什麽是信贷限额

信贷限额适用于孖展帐户,该限额按交收日之基础决定该帐户下容许结欠的最高总金额。

 

 

什麽是追收保证金(孖展)

对于不同帐户类别,追收保证金(孖展)的定义各有不同﹕

现金帐户

当结算日后仍有逾期未清还的款项,或按本公司在任何时候或不时的要求,您便会被追收追收保证金(孖展)

保证金(孖展)帐户

当帐户内投资组合的可融资价值不足以担保帐户结欠的总金额,或在任何交收日该帐户结欠的总金额或会超过已获批的信贷限额,或按本公司在任何时候或不时的要求,您 便会被追收保证金(孖展)。因此,追收保证金(孖展)的金额将会是超出该帐户内投资组合的可融资价值或已获批的信贷限额的数目,或本公司要求之金额,以较高者为准。

如果您被追收保证金(孖展),您便不可以再买入股票、提取股票或提款,及必须立即以现金存款、增补证券抵押品及/或沽售投资组合套现(按适用情况)来缴付追收保证金(孖展)金额。如果您未能清缴追收保证金(孖展)款项,我们会将您部份或全部投资组合斩仓套现,而不会事先通知。

 

就一般或任何个别情况,凯基证券保留修改信贷限额、保证金(孖展)及强制斩仓政策的权利,而毋须任何事先通知。

期货及期权

我是否需要在下单交易前存钱进交易帐户?

在期货或期权市场中,买卖双方均须缴付一笔基本按金,这笔按金通常是根据当日价格风险而估算出来,以应付市场价格的波动。在每个交易日结束时,投资者的交易帐户就 会根据每张合约的价值而作出调整,或称为「按市价计值」。在按市价计算之后,假设基本按金跌逾规定的水平,即少过维持按金的话,投资者就会收到追收按金通知。届时,投 资者必须即时存入额外款项,使交易帐户内的金额能回复至基本按金水平。

若您指示凯基期货代为订立期货或期权合约交易,而该交易乃以外币进行者,则(i) 任何因该外币之汇率波动风险而引致之一切损益,一概由您自行承担;及(ii) 除非凯基 期货另有规定,所有须交付的保证金须以该种外币之现金如数交付。凯基期货保留权利,可按其自主决定以当时货币市场汇率为基础的汇率,将您交易帐户中的资金在其他种类货 币和该种外币之间进行转换,以处理该宗交易及/或行使凯基期货的权利。任何及所有汇价损失和货币转换费用,一概由您自行承担。

 

 

我可以在那里查询按金要求?

您可从我们的网页内[佣金,收费及按金表]一栏中,查阅到有关香港及环球期货权的按金要求。

存入港元或美元至我的凯基证券交易帐户后,购买力何时才会提升?

非支票存款:

如透过银行转帐、现金存款、汇丰银行/恒生银行/渣打银行电话理财,及电子银行服务存款,您的购买力将可于银行办公时间两小时内1提升。

如您在截数时间前成功透过「缴费灵」服务及网上银行「缴付账单」服务(汇丰银行、恒生银行及永隆银行除外) 存款,您的购买力将于下一个工作天前内提升。

支票存款:

如透过支票存款,您的购买力可于两小时内1提升最多50,0002港元。至于超过50,000港元之支票存款,有关存款将于支票兑现后全数显示于购买力 内。

1凯基证券接获存款通知后两小时内;星期六、日及公众假期(香港时间)除外。
2不论当日存款的次数。

 

 

什么是追收保证金(孖展)?

当您的期货及指数期权交易帐户内的市场价值低于维持保证金的规定时便会被追收保证金(孖展)。

如果您的帐户被追收保证金(孖展),您便不可以再开新仓,及您必须立即以现金存款,适当的抵押品(适用于股票期权)及/或平仓,即时缴付所有追收保证金(孖展)款项。在出现被追收保证金(孖展)的情况时,如未能付清,我们会根据其绝对酌情权将您帐户内的任何未平仓之合约平仓以履行您的交收义务,而毋须另行通知。

如您完成支付所有被追收孖展的款项,请致电24小时「综合投资专线」(852) 2878-5555通知我们的客户服务主任或联络您的凯基证券营业代表。

注:凯基证券保留修改追收保证金(孖展)及强制斩仓条款的权利,而毋须另行通知。

分享您的投资体验